Trunk Handpainted by Marsha's Dad

Trunk Handpainted by Marsha's Dad

Greetings, Viking lovers near and far –

A Longship - Model Not to Scale!!!

A Longship - Model Not to Scale!!!

OK – I’ve been busy getting the crap kicked out of me lately, with contests entries, critiques, book reviews, getting chapters written, and now slaving away in the salt mines, too. So I’m WAY behind on some of my goodies (including new pics of Barbarian Hotness).

However, can’t let the opportunity go by without mentioning the celebration of Santansaften a few weeks back with my vatos at the Norwegian Society of Texas. Truly, they’re the nicest people on the planet. So what are you waiting for???? Take a liking to a Viking!

Anyhoos, the nice folks at the Norwegian Society gathered at the lovely home of Norwood and Marsha Band. Here’s some pics (sorry that I didn’t capture any of the chow). You need to know two things:

  1. Norwegian hospitality is surreal. Marsha is the perfect hostess, which only confirmed my suspicion that if I tried something similar, it would end in absolute disaster.
  2. Norwegians can eat. This requires no explanation. But it’s probably the reason they didn’t actually take over the world – they couldn’t maintain their food supply.
Norwegian Hospitality (If I tried to make this, it would look like crap.)

Norwegian Hospitality

I also owe a shout out to my vato, Steve Ogden, one of our loyal Viking dudes. Steve’s a die-hard, and he sent me some pics of him in his Viking attire. Steve, you’re da MAN!!!! See his pics below – or else.
 
Capital One should hire him for their commercials!
And my friend Hayward McMurray got us all singing “Home, Home in Norway” (to the tune of “Home on the Range”. Here are the lyrics:
O give me a home/ Where the Viking men roam/Where the trolls and the reindeer all play/ Where the midnight sun beams/ Over mountains and streams/ And the people are friendly all day.
Home, home in Norway/ Where the trolls and the reindeer all play/ Where the midnight sun beams/ Over mountains and streams/ And the people are friendly all day.
Note: I like this – particularly the part about “roaming Viking men.” Thanks, Hayward!
 
 Last – just one little plug:
 I’m now on Facebook (yes, I’ve gone to the Dark Side). So don’t be haters – send me invites!
 
Steve "What's in your wallet?" Ogden on His Viking Best Behavior - Victim Unknown

Steve "What's in your wallet?" Ogden on His Viking Best Behavior - Victim is Auntie Liz, Matriarch of the Hawaiian Dance Group "Hula Halau Ohana Elikapeka" (Because Vikings beat up on Hawaiian dancers most commonly.)

Steve Demonstrates Proper Pillaging Technique

Steve Demonstrates Proper Pillaging Technique (On Auntie Liz and her granddaughter, Bella.)

 

